Night Owl Makes A Friend

nightowl

Dear Ms. Braid,

Greetings!

I know that writing a letter to express myself is outdated and formal in the modern 21st century, but it is one of the best ways for me to convey what I have to say and feel. If you are willing to reply to my letter, you do not have to do the same thing as I did.

I am not used to approaching people (especially STRANGERS) and starting a conversation face-to-face. This is one of my ways of communicating with someone. You might be thinking this: “When did starting a conversation with someone become a struggle?” Here is my answer to the question (in case you are wondering about it): It started when I realized two reasons. First, I have a rechargeable battery, which means *drum roll please* I need alone time after few hours of interacting with other human beings. I do not have a problem interacting with other human beings (unless he or she is a person who I do not want to be involved with due to past incidences). I do solemnly swear on this, but it is best to recharge my battery to function well in social events. *enters a well-known horror theme song from Psycho* Just hearing the word “social events” makes my rechargeable battery go “kaput”. Second (and lastly), I have a secret power, which YOU MUST NEVER TELL ANYONE. Come closer. Closer. A little bit cloooooseeer… and STOP! My secret power would be that I can make any conversation with someone, who I am not close to, into a deep abyss of silence and awkwardness. Mwahahaha! I am not saying I am proud of it. Although I am ashamed and embarrassed of being bestowed with such power, I still have to go through it with my head held high. *secretly dies inside every time it happens*

Anyway, my point is I want to close the gap between us. I want to be more than a stranger or an acquaintance to you. I want to be your friend, if it is okay with you. I know. I know. You might be thinking this: “Why go all through this trouble, if all I wanted is to be your friend? All you have to do is ask, silly!” Simple. I am a person who values relationships. I do not take it for granted. This is my way of saying that I am sincere and serious about this. I do not want to be your friend due to quantity. I want to be your friend in order to know more about who you are and what you want to become.

All in all, this is everything I have to say (hopefully for now).

 

                                                         Sincerely neurotic,

                                                              Night Owl

Leave a Reply

